page contents

ICTP President Prof. Geoffrey Lipman : Ambassadors for Peace

ICTP President Prof. Geoffrey Lipman : Ambassadors for Peace

Louis D’Amore, President of the International Institute of Peace through Tourism will honour its 2017 “Global Ambassadors of Peace Through Tourism” at a ceremony at World Travel Market, London, on 6th November.

They are HRH Princess Dana Firas of Jordan – Chairperson of the Petra National Trust & UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador David Scowsill – CEO EON Reality & Immed. Past President & CEO, World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) Fiona Jeffery OBE– Director, Just a Drop Foundation Geoffrey Lipman – Director Green Growth & Travelism Institute & Co-Founder SUNX Foundation Dr. Mario Hardy – President and CEO, Pacific Asia Travel Association, PATA Anita Mendiratta – Managing Director CACHET Consulting, Tourism author & thought leader Costas Christ – CEO, Beyond Green Travel and Senior Advisor for Sustainable Tourism, National Geographic. A lifetime Award will go to Taleb Rifai, outgoing Secretary General of UNWTO.

The Awards, sponsored by Cox and Kings, are presented to “people who have devoted their energies to champion sustainable tourism practices that go beyond the commercial interest and embrace the higher paradigm of tourism – to nurture and save the planet and its people, tapping into the collective resources and social reach of the travel and tourism industry.”

Commenting on the Award ICTP Chairman Juergen Steinmetz said “We are delighted that Geoffrey is amongst the new Ambassadors – it is a fitting recognition of his half century of leadership in IATA, WTTC and UNWTO, his warning of the existential threat of climate change and persistent championing of Green Growth as the only direction for our industry. It is also a welcome boost to ICTP with its mission of promotion of Green Growth and Quality Business – the embodiment of the 17 SDG’s underlying intent.”

Lipman is now co-founder of SUNx – the Strong Universal Network. A legacy climate resilience  program for Maurice Strong, Sustainable Development Pioneer and Secretary General of the 1992 Earth Summit, that was the base of the SDGs and the Paris Climate Accord.

More on ICTP and how to join:

Currently reading: