page contents

The Peabody Hotel: Home of the Duck March

The Peabody Hotel: Home of the Duck March

eTurboNews -

Following the Civil War, Memphis began the process of rebuilding. In 1869, Colonel Robert C. Brinkley opened a 75-room hotel which contained private baths, a ballroom, saloon and lobby. Brinkley planned to name the hotel after himself, but when he learned that his dear friend, philanthropist George Peabody, had died, he christened it The Peabody. […]

The post The Peabody Hotel: Home of the Duck March appeared first on eTurboNews (eTN).

Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.

%d bloggers like this: