page contents

Tourism Minister inaugurates new Uganda Tourism Board Directors

Tourism Minister inaugurates new Uganda Tourism Board Directors

COVID-19 is the biggest challenge for travel and tourism.  is an initiative adopted by industry and government leaders in 106 countries. eTurboNews: has taken the global lead.

Uganda’s Minister of Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities, Hon. Col. (Rtd) Tom R. Butime  today inaugurated the 4th Board of Directors of the Uganda Tourism Board (UTB) at the ceremony held at the Mestil Hotel.  

During his congratulatory remarks, the Hon. Minister tasked
the members of the new Board to lead the fast-tracking of the sector recovery
from the impacts of COVID-19.

“The pandemic has more or less leveled the ground for competition and it’s now our duty to claim our due share of the market as all destinations struggle to rebuild themselves from the COVID-19 mess.”

The Minister also called for no further delay of Brand Destination Uganda, stating that there is no way we can position ourselves without branding the destination.

“Every citizen must appreciate and promote the brand. This
way, we shall turn all Ugandans into destination ambassadors.”

The Hon Minister then inaugurated the team appointed to constitute the 4th Board of Directors of Uganda Tourism Board, mostly composed of the previous board members, effective today, September 30, 2020 for a period of three years, as follows:

1. Hon. Daudi Migereko, the Chairperson of the Board

2. Dr. Katende Suleiman, Member representing Uganda Tourism

3. Mrs. Suzan Muhwezi Kabonero, member representing


4. Mr. Kirya Eddy, Member representing Association of Uganda
Tour Operators

5. Ms. Biriggwa Yewagnesh Mamo Yogi, Member representing
Private Aviation industry

6. Mr. Lyazi Vivian, Member representing the Ministry of
Tourism, Wildlife and


7. Mr. Mwanja Paul, Member representing the Ministry of
Finance, Planning and

Economic Development

8. Mr. Chemonges Mongea Sabila, Member representing Uganda
Wildlife Authority

9. Mr. Ronald Kagwa, Member representing National Planning

10. Mr. Al-Hajji Eng. Sooma Ayub, Member representing Civil
Aviation Authority

11. Ms Lilly Ajarova, the Chief Executive Officer,
Ex-officio Member and Secretary to the Board

eTurboNews | Trends | Travel News

Source: eTurboNews Syndication